Executive Leadership

Jennifer Pollitt Hill, MSW
Executive Director

Jenn joined HopeWorks as Executive Director in February of 2012. Her career has been devoted to addressing violence against women with a particular focus on sexual assault.   Formerly she held the position of Executive Director for the Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault and has also worked at the Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence.  Prior to joining HopeWorks, Jenn was employed by the District of Columbia Office of Victim Services as a Senior Grants Manager with oversight of the District’s Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner program as well as grants associated with the Violence Against Women Act and the Victims of Crime Act.  She holds a Master of Social Work degree from the University of Pennsylvania School of Social Policy and Practice and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Social Psychology from Mary Baldwin College.

Saman Akhtar, MBA

Assistant Director

Saman joined HopeWorks as Director of Advocacy in December of 2013 and moved to the role of Assistant Director in April of 2017. She has dedicated her career to providing compassionate support and advocacy for those navigating sexual and domestic violence traumas. Prior to joining HopeWorks, Saman held the positions of Program Manager for the Family & Sexual Violence Coordinating Council of Howard County, Helpline Manager for the Domestic Violence Center of Howard County (now HopeWorks), Crisis Intervention Manager for the STTAR Center, Howard County’s previous rape crisis and trauma treatment center, and Program Manager for Underserved Populations at the Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault. She was also responsible for overseeing human resources and administrative details for a small minority-owned business. Saman holds a Master of Business Administration and a Master of Science in Human Resource Management as well as a Bachelor of Science in Management & Consumer Studies from the University of Maryland Systems. She also has a State of Maryland Health and Life Insurance Producer License.

Management Team

HopeWorks’ management team consists of the directors of each agency department as well as the executive leadership team.  Our department directors include:

Lynda King
Advocacy Services Department

Sylvie Henry
Legal Department

Dionne Jimenez
Residential Department

Vanita Leatherwood
Community Engagement Department

Amy Meldau
Clinical Department